Chamber hosting provincial election candidate debates

TRURO – The Truro & Colchester Chamber of Commerce has organized a series of three provincial election debates.

Chamber president Alex Stevenson said the Mission of the chamber is to act in the best interest of business in Truro and Colchester on matters of economic, social and political impact and hosting debates is a one way the organization strives to deliver to its membership.

“We feel it’s important to play a role during elections to host political debates as we’ve done in the past and will continue to do in the future,” said Stevenson. “Most importantly, hosting debates provides an opportunity for the community to come and listen to the candidate’s messages so that they can make an informed decision when it’s time to vote.”

Two debates will be held on May 23 at the Marigold Cultural Centre, 605 Prince St., Truro.

The first will be held at 6 p.m. for candidates campaigning in Colchester-North, including Liberal Karen Casey, NDP James Finnie and Progressive Conservative Rebecca Taylor.

A second debate will be held at 7:30 p.m. the same night for the candidates campaigning in Truro-Bible Hill-Millbrook-Salmon River, including NDP Lenore Zann, Liberal Craig Johnson and Progressive Conservative Keltie Jones.

The doors at the Marigold Centre will open at 5:30 p.m. and the first debate will begin promptly at 6 p.m.

The third debate will be held the following evening, May 24,  at 6 p.m. at the Stewiacke Legion, 299 George St.,  and will include candidates campaigning in Colchester –Musquodoboit Valley; Progressive Conservative Larry Harrison, Liberal Matthew Rushton and NDP Janet Moulton.
Everyone is welcome to attend these free events, sponsored by the Nova Scotia Association of Realtors, to listen to the candidates answer questions about topics impacting the local economy and community.
No questions will be taken from the floor during the event. Suggested debate questions may be submitted in advance for consideration. Due to debate time restrictions a limited number of questions will be presented to the candidates. Email questions to [email protected] by May 22.